Advisory Council

Advisory Councils
The School Board of Education has a sincere commitment to the concept of citizen involvement in the Buncombe County Schools.  They believe that the people want good schools, that they have reasonable ideas
about the things the schools should do and that they are willing to help the schools attain established goals. A purpose of the advisory structure is to provide informed advice to the school authorities. The minutes will be sent to the Superintendent and the Superintendent's office shall forward the minutes to the Board of Education.

Each elementary school Advisory Council is to be made up of the following

  • PTO president

  • One teacher elected by the school's teachers

  • Three lay people approved by the Board of Education from a pool of
    applicants based upon recommendation from the principal.

  • The school principal, as an ex-officio member, shall be the secretary and record the minutes. 

2023.2024 Advisory Council Dates / Times / Locations

  • September 12: @ 8:15 Weaverville Primary School

  • October 24: 6 - 8 pm District Meeting @ Erwin High School

  • February 22: 11 am North Buncombe District Meeting @ Weaverville Community

  • April 24: 8:15 am @ Weaverville Primary School

2023.2024 Advisory Council Members

  • Jeffery Zelenka, parent

  • Rachel Nelson, parent

  • Mark Schnobrick, parent

  • William Cooper, parent

  • Kate Hamlin, parent

  • Courtney Hamlin, parent

  • Hailey Wilson, parent

  • Bonnie Bullman, teacher representative

  • Casey Cuevas, PTO representative

  • Stephanie Stroupe, Principal